What does it mean by “Leave a Copy of My Mail on the Server”?
When your Webmail and your POP3 email client receives a message, Webmail will send a command to automatically delete the email from our server. You can turn this function off for messages that come into your Webmail and your POP3 email client program by enabling the leave a copy stored in Webmail for a particular amount of time (Set while configuring the email client).
For understanding how to leave a copy of your mail on the server for various email clients, please see the Related Topics.
There are a some reasons why you might want to leave a copy of the email on the server:
- You have several devices that you use to receive email. If you do not enable this option, only the first program to receive email will see that message.
- For example, if you had not enabled leave a copy option while configuring the email client and your computer receives the message before your phone, then your phone will not have a chance to see that message.
- You want to use Webmail often and see the same messages that you may have already received to your POP3 email program.
- You want a backup of your messages in case your POP3 program became inaccessible.
There are also reasons why you would not want to leave a copy of the message on the server:
- You do not log in to your Webmail to send and receive email.
- You only use one POP3 program to download mail and store local backups.
- You are concerned about the Webmail getting too full or may forget to check.
- If you leave a copy on the server, please check the Webmail often to make sure it does not exceed the file size limit for your mailbox provided by your server/service provider.
- There will be no warning that you are getting close to the file size limit. Messages that are deleted because your mailbox is full are non-recoverable.
- We recommend that you purchase additional storage if you plan on leaving copies of your messages on the server or go with unlimited storage plans.